Uncategorized

R – Ride or Dies

So I can’t do 26 posts and not dedicate one to the people that are usually the reason I get out of bed in the morning. MY FRIENDS  ❤ ❤

I’m not going to list them off, one because I don’t want to miss anyone off and two because they already know who they are.

I am at a point in my life where I am surrounded by the most amazing bunch of people I get to call my friends, which hasn’t always been the case. I know that whatever is going on in my life, I have people I can turn to and I can share that with. That to me is invaluable, and I am incredibly lucky. 

Sometimes I worry I am hard work as a friend, lacking independence and similar abilities in some things in life. The people around me now have basically diminished this to nothing. There was a situation I literally will never forget where I was with an organised group and to get from A to B, I had to get a taxi while everyone else walked. I asked 2 of my friends – at the time, if they would jump in with me so I wasn’t myself, and one sighed to the other under her breath something like ‘if we have to’. I was probably about 16 or 17 at the time and it hurt me so fucking bad, I remember just crying all night. Instead of just saying she just wanted to walk, in that response it embedded in me that people things with me/to my ability was forcing them to miss out on what they actually want to do, and it’s never really left me. 

I made a lot of insane friendships from university and moving to Glasgow and I have a few special friendships from childhood. Some have fought through the absolute mud to still exist and others have been the support structure to allow that to happen – and vice versa for these two. The believe in me and lift me up in whatever I am going through. Take me in when I have nowhere to go, cook for me, hold me up while walking, carry things, wipe my tears, literally keep my heart beating. 

More than the emotional and physical support, no-one makes me cry laugh like my friends, we have so much fun together that it makes me excited to see what the future will bring. Being able to travel would be shite without them, whether it’s round the Christmas markets or up a 40minute mountain hike. I learn so much from them, their skills and knowledge and desire for life. We get pished and be hungover together.  We LOVE each other. 

The have created a family for me, and for that I can not be more greatful. 

Leave a comment